Winners of the 2013 Abraaj Capital Art Prize announced

Iman Issa, Material for a sculpture recalling the destruction of a prominent public monument in the name of national resistance , from the Material Series, 2010-2011

Today the winners of the 2013 Abraaj Capital Art Prize were announced. We at Baibakov Art Projects heartily congratulate Iman Issa (who wowed us at the New Museum’s The Ungovernables), Vartan Avakian, Huma Mulji, Hrair Sarkissian and Rayyane Tabet (another Ungovernable…)

We look forward to seeing the exhibition of their works at ArtDubai 2013!

The Abraaj Capital Art Prize is an award for artists from the Middle East, North Africa and South Asia. The five artists selected each year have six months to create a commissioned work for a curated show that takes place during the fair. The curator for 2013 is Murtaza Vali, a freelance critic and curator based between New York and Sharjah.

The website does not yet contain the announcement, but once it’s been posted, you can find more details here.

Oh, and many thanks to the wonderful Antonia Carver for being our eyes and ears!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s